A Glimpse of Ubud, Bali

My relationship with a beautiful village called Ubud started 3 years ago. Back then, Ubud was only one of the places in Bali that I wasn’t familiar with.

Until one day I became one of those-so-called-UWRF-volunteers, I fell in love instantly with this traditional-yet-modern-village. I had a deeper relationship with Ubud when I came to the village to work at one of the local organizations in there. I went alone, but as far as I remembered, I never felt alone.

For some people, Ubud is kind of boring. The shops are closed at around 7-8 pm. The restaurants are open until 11 pm at max. The nightlife is rather dull. No beaches, but padi fields. No bikinis, but shorts.

For me, and some other people, Ubud is enchanting. Always.

You can walk alone in ubud and enjoy it, still. You can have a cup of nice coffee and a slice of decent cake while reading your favorite book. Enjoy the moment, forget your rush, and just let the ambiance escapes you from the real world. You can go by yourself to any places and find yourself chatting with everybody.

I’m not planning to list the good restaurants or coffee shops or places in Ubud, because once you’re in Ubud, you’ll find a lot of worth-the-try places. Pay attention to every detail and you’ll realize that even a small shop at the corner of a street is surprisingly incredible!

Leave a Reply

