I Love Books Actually. I Love Books, Actually. Books Actually, I Love.

I have to admit. I am the type of person who judges a book by its cover especially when it comes to something that matters to me.

I’ve been to Singapore many times since 2003 because my older brother lives there, but I just found a comfy and homie bookstore named Books Actually last year! After googling here and there, I realized that this bookstore has been established since 2005. O dear, where have I been?

It started with the journey of me and R tasting some good local coffee shops in Singapore. One day, after trying several coffee shops few days before, we managed to continue exploring other coffee shops, including the one located in Tiong Bahru called 40 Hands Coffee. It really caught my eyes as Books Actually is located right in front of 40 Hands Coffee.

booksactually5

The appearance

The appearance is just beautiful with tree mural painting above the front door and a drawing of the penguin book mascot on the right side. I was in awe of this bookstore! The moment I stepped into the building, I felt like I wanted to stay forever. The smell of old books and the crisp aroma of new books melted in imaginative ways.

Books Actually specializes in Literature and Fiction, including prose, poetry, essay, literary journals, and others. The bookstore also has rare and vintage books from a wide variety of genres, including cookbook, science, history, travel, and a lot more. Not to mention the lovely stationary and alphabetical postcards! Further inside the store, there is a gate to the vintage collections of stuff, including merchandise, old games, cards, and dishware. They even have a collection of art prints, vinyl, cassette tapes, and CDs.

booksactually1

Further inside

If you happen to be in Singapore in the near future, don’t forget to visit this bookstore. Who knows, its upcoming literary events coincide with your travel schedule.

BooksActually
9 Yong Siak Street
(65) 6222-9195
booksactually.com

Leave a Reply

