So I Made Myself an Almond Milk…

Almond milk is overrated. I know. This is a very hip drink, especially amongst vegans, to replace the benefits of cow’s milk. I saw a lot of information about almond milk everywhere, from social media to blogs, since long ago. I am curious about the taste but never interested to buy one, because, you know, it is quite pricey. Since the drink is easy to make, I decided to make one at home.

The method is very simple. You just have to own a blender and prepare a bag of almonds, water, and vanilla extract (I used vanilla powder because I don’t have vanilla extract). If you prefer a plain almond milk you just have to prepare the almonds and water. That’s it.

First you have to soak the almonds at least overnight (mine was two nights, because I had not had a chance to make one the day after I soaked the almond) to make it softer and less stiff. Softer almonds are also easier to digest, which increase the amount of nutrients your body can absorb from the nut. Then prepare the blender and put the almonds, vanilla extract, and water there. Blend it for about 1 minute. The resulting milky liquid is strained using cheesecloth or a fine mesh strainer, up to you. Put it in a refrigerator until it is cold and drink it later.

Easy peasy. But, how does it taste?

It tastes like nut, obviously, with a hint of sweetness. It doesn’t taste like sweet almonds you chew when you are eating a bar of chocolate, because almond milk is made of raw almonds. Without any other sweetener, almond milk tastes plain and subtle, and I don’t know why I also taste a hint of meaty flavour at the end. It has the body, but it depends on the almonds vs water ratio. I had two experiments the other day: one was 1 cup of almonds vs 4 cups of water; then 1 cup of almonds vs 2 cups of water. The 1:2 ratio was great because I can feel the body and the milk was rich and creamy.

Will I drink it regularly? Unlikely, but I’m definitely going to use it as one of the ingredients of desserts.

Processed with VSCOcam with s2 preset

Homemade Almond Milk

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup of almonds
  • 2 cups of water
  • 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla extract

Directions:

  • Soaked the almonds overnight, then rinse with filtered water
  • Blend the almonds, water, and vanilla extract in blender for about 1 minute
  • Strain the liquid using cheesecloth or a fine mesh strainer into a jar
  • Refrigerate if desire, and drink it!
Leave a Reply

