Homemade Coconut Butter, a Heavenly Spread

I’m a big fan of coconut water. For us who live in a tropical country, we can get it fresh on a daily basis. It is a life-saver for a very tiring day, especially after an all-day swimming in open water on summer. Coconut water is no stranger to us. But coconut butter? I’ve never heard of it until one day I wanted to make a homemade spread for snacks and coconut butter was one of the ingredients. Apparently coconut butter is a huge buzz, especially in foreign countries.

After tons of searching on how to make coconut butter (including the benefits of it!), I found two ways to make it (and both are stupidly easy):

  1. Shredded coconut and a little bit of sea salt.
  2. Shrreded coconut, a little bit of coconut oil, and a little bit of sea salt. The use of coconut oil is simply to make it easier to blend in a blender. But I found it easy even without using coconut oil.

Processed with VSCOcam with a7 preset

I chose to make the first way because I wanted to know the original taste without coconut oil, and the result was amazing. It tasted really, really great. The texture was quite grainy, perhaps because I didn’t try to blend it twice: I only blended it once until I got the desired consistency. Some people strain the mixture until they can divide the solid and the liquid, and blend the solid once again to get softer texture. Well, for me the grainy texture is fine. I put the coconut butter on top of a cracker and couldn’t get enough of it!

Processed with VSCOcam with a7 preset

Homemade Coconut Butter

Ingredients:

  • Shredded coconut, I bought it at Titan Baking in Cikajang
  • Sea salt to taste

Directions:

  • Put the shredded coconut and the sea salt in a blender. Mix it on high speed until you get a thick paste form. Store it in a small jar in a room temperature.
Leave a Reply

